ORATIONS & AWARDS AT DERMACON INTERNATIONAL 2019

ORATIONS that can be applied for by Life Members of IADVL

- Dr. B. M. Ambady Oration
- IADVL Systopic Oration
- IADVL Oration

AWARDS given by IADVL to eligible Life Members either by Application or Nomination

- Professor K. C. Kandhari Foundation Award
- IADVL Life time Achievement awards
- Dr. J. C. Shroff Memorial Award
- Prof. Ratan Singh Award
- Prof. L. K. Bhutani Award
- Prof. V. N. Sehgal Award
- Prof. Ganapati Panja Memorial Award
- Dr. L. N. Sinha Memorial Award
- Prof. G. Senthalmil Selvi Award
- Prof. S. Premalatha Award for the Best Research Project in Dermatology
- Best Teacher Awards
- IADVL Dermapractice Award
- IADVL Dermasewa Award

AWARDS to be nominated by DERMACON Scientific Committee (for award papers/ Posters)

- Dr. Leslie Marquis Award
- Prof. H. C. Mohanty Award
- Dr. F. Handa Award
- Prof. B. N. Banerjee Award
- Dr. B. B. Gokhale Medal
- Prof. K. Siddappa Medal
- Prof. D. K. Gupta Medal
- Dr. C. S. Bhavani Kumar Memorial Award (for best dermatosurgery award)
- M. G. M. Medical College Prize
- Dr. Manu Patel Memorial Prize
- KIWI Best Poster Award

DETAILS OF AWARDS AND ORATIONS:

1. AWARDS GIVEN BY IADVL DURING DERMACON (BY APPLICATION OR NOMINATION)

- (a) Professor K. C. Kandhari Foundation Award and Life time Achievement Awards: These are the highest awards of the Association. Professor K. C. Kandhari Foundation Award was instituted by Prof. K. C. Kandhari Foundation. These awards are given every year at DERMACON to personalities for lifetime meritorious service or contribution to dermatology, venereology, and leprology by teaching, research or patient care so as to contribute to the prestige of the specialty. Applications may be accepted or nominations for the award are given by the President, Immediate Past President, President Elect and Chairperson of IADVL Academy of Dermatology and ratified by the Central Scientific Committee. Travelling allowance will be provided to winners of life time achievement awards and Professor K.C.Kandhari award
- (b) **Dr. J. C. Shroff Memorial Award:** It is given to a senior dermatologist, venereologist or leprologist above the age of 58 years, whose lifetime experience has benefited the specialty.
- (c) **Prof. Ratan Singh Award:** It is awarded to a senior member of the association for contribution to the national body as a teacher, researcher, or patient care or for dedicated service to the specialty.

2. AWARDS, MEDALS AND PRIZES FOR THE AWARDS SESSION AT DERMACON

These awards are all for PLMs/LMs below the age of 35 years:

- (a) **Prof. H. C. Mohanti Award**: The award is to be given for the best paper in leprosy.
- (b) M. G. M. Medical College Prize: The prize is given to a person below 35 years for the best paper presented at DERMACON during the award papers session.
- (c) **Prof. F. Handa Prize:** It is to be given to a person below 35 years for the best paper presented at DERMACON during the award papers session.
- (d) **Prof. B. N. Banerjee Medal:** The medal is awarded to a person below 35 years for the best original research paper presented at DERMACON during the award papers session.
- (e) **Dr. B. B. Gokhale Medal:** It is to be given to a person below 35 years for a paper presented at DERMACON during the award paper session.
- (f) **Prof. K. Siddappa Medal:** It is to be given to a postgraduate student for the best paper, preferably for original research, at DERMACON during the award papers session.
- (g) Prof. D. K. Gupta Medal: It is to given to a female postgraduate student for the best paper,

giving preference to original research work, presented at DERMACON during the award papers session.

3. OTHER AWARDS AND MEDALS GIVEN DURING DERMACON (BY APPLICATION)

(a) Award of Dr. Manu Patel Memorial Prize:

This prize is for the best poster presented during DERMACON. The application for the award will be invited by the Scientific Committee Chairperson. Applicants must be IADVL members registered as delegates for the DERMACON and should mention their membership number (the validity of the membership will be confirmed by the Honorary General Secretary). A summary of the poster paper of approximately 200 words should accompany the application. Preference should be given to the work of the competitor alone while awarding the prize. To create room for other competitors, those who have received the prize earlier are not eligible. A panel of three judges nominated by the President and members of Scientific Committee will select the recipients for the awards.

A letter should be sent to those who have donated or instituted the award, mentioning the name of the recipient of the award along with a copy of the abstract of the paper and an invitation to attend the function at no cost to the Association or organizing committee

- (b) For the following awards, application will be invited in the August issue of IADVL NEWS:
- (i) **Dr. L. N. Sinha Memorial Award:** It is given to one member of the IADVL aged below 45 years for overall contribution to the specialty (and not only for scientific achievement). The award should be rotated on a zonal basis.
- (ii) **Prof. V. N. Sehgal Award:** It is given to a member of the IADVL for accomplishing excellence in dermatology.
- (iii) **Prof. L. K. Bhutani Award:** It is to be given for achievement for teaching and research in the specialty.
- (iv) **Prof. Ganapati Panja Memorial Award :** It will be given on IADVL Day to a senior dermatologist for contribution to clinical dermatology or dermatopathology.
- (v) **Prof. G. Senthalmil Selvi Award:** The award should be given by the President on IADVL Day to any person for the best published work in mycology, published in a national or an international journal. The Editorial Board of IJDVL will shortlist three names.
- (vi) **Prof. S. Premalatha Award:** for the Best Research Project in Dermatology The award is given for the best research project.

4. OTHER AWARDS, PRIZES, MEDALS TO BE GIVEN DURING DERMACON

- (a) **Dr. L. Marquis Memorial Award :** The award is given to a guest speaker at DERMACON for best guest lecture.
- (b) **Dr. Bishnupriya Devi Award:** It is to be given to the first author of the best paper published in IJDVL during the year.
- (c) **Mrs. Indubala Memorial Award:** It is to be given to the best paper published in IJDVL during the year, on the subject of industrial or occupational contact dermatitis. If no such papers are published, the award should be given for any good paper published on contact dermatitis.
- (d) Dr. C. S. Bhavani Kumar Memorial Award

It is to be given to a dermatologist aged below 45 years for the best paper presented on dermatosurgery at DERMACON.

PROFORMA OF APPLICATION AND RULES OF AWARD SESSION PAPERS

- 1 Name
- 2 Age (certificate to prove)
- 3 Sex: Male/female
- 4. Designation
- 5. Place of work
- 6. Title of the paper
- 7. Summary of the paper
- 8. Individual/group work
- 9. Original research/other type of work; case reports and small case series will not be considered
- 10. Presented earlier/not presented
- 11. The participant should be a member of IADVL (to be verified by the Honorary General Secretary)

Format of the competition

- 1 The time allotted is 7 minutes.
- 2 Text, photo and table slides by power point presentation only.
- The institution is not to be displayed during the presentation, but may be announced after the result.

- The name of the co-authors should not be mentioned.
- 5 Each slide should not contain more than eight lines enabling the audience to read it.
- 6 The presentation should be clear and audible.
- Any questions, for clarification, are allowed only from the judges and after the presentation.
- 8. The number of award papers will be decided by the Chairman Scientific committee based on logistic and administrative considerations and approved by the central scientific committee.